Winners of the 2020 edition


  • Congratulations to all the candidates! The AJFS Editorial Committee has been very impressed by the overall quality of the essays.

  • The 40 students below represent the top 4% of the applicants of the 2020 edition.

You are invited to support us. Sign up and become a member to access all online essays: Memberships

To buy our Journal and wear AJFS collection: Collection

High Schools

1. Ke Nicole Hu

St Paul's School (NH). $150

2. Silvia Rivet

Baton Rouge Magnet High School (LA). $50

3. Emery Doga

Ascension Episcopal School (LA). TV-5 Monde

4. Jacob LeBlanc

Lafayette High School (LA)

5. Charlie Roth

Episcopal School of Baton Rouge (LA)

6. Anna Patricia Cutrone

Metairie Park Country Day School (LA)

7. Samarah Bentley

Lycée Français de la Nouvelle Orléans (LA)

8. Amelia Thompson

Westdale Middle School (LA)

9. Diana Mayer

St. Thomas More Catholic High School (LA)

10. Ana-Claire Perkins

Saint Louis Catholic High School (LA)

11. Laura Newman

Plainview-Old Bethpage JFK High School (NY)

12. Kate Braverman

Scarsdale High School (NY)

13. Maggie Stewart

Lee Magnet High School (LA)

14. Rita Ntipouna

Lafayette High School (LA)

15. Ava Wilkes

Benjamin Franklin High School (LA)

16. Natalia Morris

De La Salle High School (LA)

17. Tanvi Dhaka

Episcopal School of Baton Rouge (LA)

18. Aiden Clouatre

Saint Amant High School (LA)

19. Jeremy Cormier

Lafayette High School (LA)

20. Abhinav Pathak

Glasgow Middle School (LA)


1. John Sandefur

Tulane University (LA). $250

2. Matigan King

New York University (NY). $100

3. Abby Garver

UAB (AL). TV-5 Monde

4. Carinne Jarvis

Loyola University of Chicago (IL)

5. Ingrid Ren

Brown University (RI)

6. Lauren “Lou” Buhl

Wayne State University (MI)

7. Aazaad Burn

University of Oregon (OR)

8. Valeria Colunga

University of Texas at Austin (TX)

9. Allie Greenwell

Xavier University (OH)

10. Nicolas Garon

Louisiana State University (LA)

11. Samantha R. Zeid

University of Wisconsin-Madison (WI)

12. Jacob Boudreaux

Ochsner Clinical School (LA)

13. Amy Rodriguez-Peris

University of Connecticut (CT)

14. Heaven L. Moore

University of Louisiana at Lafayette (LA)

15. Simon Paige

Arizona State University (AZ)

16. Yujing Zhang

New York University (NY)

17. Trent Threeton

Southeastern Louisiana University (LA)

18. Hannah Milstead

Louisiana College (LA)

19. Samira Bechara

University of New Orleans (LA)

20. Samar Miled

Duke University (NC)



The Editorial Board of the American Journal of French Studies received 50+ essays from adults studying or practicing French in the United States. The selection below is a ranking of the top 10% of the candidates.

1. Susan Anderson

Michigan State University (MI)

2. Daniel Blanchard

Louisiana State University (LA)

3. Pierre Mvuezolo Phoba

Université du Cepromad de Matadi (CD)

4. Marie Sadron

ESCP Business School (FR)

5. Karim Hamzaoui

INU Champollion (FR)



The Editorial Board of the American Journal of French Studies would like to congratulate Lafayette High School teacher Laure Warner (“Best High School teacher of the year”) and University of Alabama at Birmingham Assistant Professor Charly Verstraet (“Best University Professor of the year”) who have both been awarded a monetary prize of $100. In 2020, they have been the two teachers whose students have submitted the highest number of essays in respectively the High School and Undergraduate divisions. We would like to thank them for their relentless efforts to offer their students a viable way to write and be published in French.

Laure Warner

Lafayette High School (LA). $100

Charly Verstraet

University of Alabama at Birmingham (AL). $100

Winners of the 2019 edition

1. Tatiana Bienvenu

Baton Rouge High School (LA). $250

2. Alex Nelson

Episcopal School of BR (LA). $150

3. Marsela Missner

Paul Breaux Middle School (LA). $100

4. Gracee Leblanc

Lafayette High School (LA). $50

5. Elaine Bachman


6. Grace Miholic

St. Thomas More Catholic High School (LA)

7. Ashtyn Raxsdale

Ascension Episcopal School, Lafayette (LA)

8. Beatriz Amorosino

Lafayette College (PA)

10. Ella Forest

Audubon Charter School (LA)

10. Ronan Basik

Audubon Charter School (LA)

For the 2019 edition, students across the United States sent essays written in French on the following topic: Call For Short papers (CFSP) 2019 – AJFS